Understanding the AI

Started by AlsoKnownAs, April 07, 2010, 03:11:47 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

AlsoKnownAs

Hi everyone,

I've worked with different forms of AI and bot scripting, but I'm unfamiliar with the SC2 AI script as I'm still new to it, I've read through most of the topic and I have some questions that I hope you guys would help me in answering them.

1.) Where in the first place does the execution of the script takes place? Which function is called first when the AI is first loaded?

2.) Does the script runs in a linear fashion which checks from top to bottom? If it does, is it limited to the boundary of one main function or one or more .galaxy files?

Thanks.

Nissep

Turdburglar wrote an excellent guide for how to write your own AI for sc2.

http://sc2.nibbits.com/articles/view/10/writing-your-own-starcraft-ii-ai

Hope you can find some info there :)

hd

Quote from: AlsoKnownAs on April 07, 2010, 03:11:47 PM
Hi everyone,

I've worked with different forms of AI and bot scripting, but I'm unfamiliar with the SC2 AI script as I'm still new to it, I've read through most of the topic and I have some questions that I hope you guys would help me in answering them.

1.) Where in the first place does the execution of the script takes place? Which function is called first when the AI is first loaded?

2.) Does the script runs in a linear fashion which checks from top to bottom? If it does, is it limited to the boundary of one main function or one or more .galaxy files?

Thanks.

To answer your questions:

1.) We don't have access to the functions that are called first but an alternative is AIMeleeStart in MeleeAI.galaxy. As far as the scripts go, it's about as close to the start as you're going to get.

2.) All code runs in a linear fashion. Lines of code are executed from top to bottom, always.

void Example(int player)
{
    AIClearStock(player);    // * this line is run first